How we do…

January 28, 2009 at 9:10 PM (Jewelry) (, , , )

Welcome to the studio for a quick tour on how we do what we do!

Just to give you an idea of how we go about creating a commissioned piece for you, here’s an example of one that I (Alexis) did recently! For all you Twilight fans out there, the project was to make a bracelet much like the one Bella wore to the prom.  We were still in the construction process on our new store front when in walked Faith, with poster in hand. She asked me if I could make her a bracelet (for her parent’s to give to her for Christmas, hehe). Surveying the destruction around me and the hopeful look on her face, I made a snap decision, “Of course, I can! I’ll have it to you before our grand opening on Dec. 20th.”  We discussed her budget and what she liked about the bracelet (pretty much every thing!) and whether there were any changes she wanted. The original (it’s a little hard to tell from the picture) seems to be a cuff bracelet with a turquoise cabochon. With movie posters for inspiration, I set to ordering materials.

Bella & Edward at Prom

Bella & Edward at Prom

With an idea in the brain, once the materials arrived, I set to work. The challenge of course is to turn this into the picture above…

Work bench and materials for Bella bracelet.

Work bench and materials for Bella bracelet.

Well, I won’t take you through what happened next step by step (I’m sure it’s far too technical anyways and I wouldn’t want to completely destroy the mystery for you), but after much cutting, soldering, and melting metal into small balls, this is what I came up with.

Faith's Bella Bracelet

Faith's Bella Bracelet

It’s pretty close to the original as far as I can tell, but completely fabricated by hand (so, probably way cooler than the one in the poster). I think it turned out pretty well!
And that’s basically how we go about doing a commission! If you’re interested in starting a project with us, let us know! So, what’s next for me? Well… I haven’t played with chainmail in awhile… 🙂
1 Comment

  1. Violet said,

    What is a price?

Leave a Reply

