“A Bride’s Big Day”- A Middle Tennessee find!

February 26, 2009 at 6:29 PM (Cool Stuff) (, , , )

The news that your company is closing can be a nightmare, especially when the economy is not at its best, but it can also be an opportunity to find something new!  Sometimes, it gives you the opportunity to start a new business doing what you love and helping people along the way!  One such business is A Bride’s Big Day.  The owner, Sherry, is doing something truly special:

Sherry had been toying with the idea of starting her own business for a long time, but the idea coalesced into a passion while helping her daughter find her dream dress without breaking their budget. “Our budget was revised numerous times, and after doing hours and hours of research, I came up with ideas that metamorphosed into this business.  The look on my daughter’s face when she found “the dress” will forever be etched on my mind, as I’m sure many memories will over the years to come.  I want to help other brides realize that “moment”, while keeping in mind our economic times don’t require spending loads of money to look fabulous!”

A Bride's Big Day

A Bride's Big Day

“I’m just starting things up since I’m closing up the office still, and in the beginning, I plan to use the home studio to set one-on-one appointments with brides and their moms to find a beautiful dress at a fantastic price.  What you won’t find at my place is $3,000 designer dresses that are ordered.  What you will find are dresses I have found through contacts at unbelievable prices.  I’ll also feature vintage gowns for that bride who wants a one-of-a-kind look, but can’t afford the custom price tag.  So many of those can be altered and changed up to be made more current by a good tailor.  The most important thing to me is that the bride doesn’t feel discount means being treated like she’s at a discount department store.  Being a bride is too special to feel like that!  I want my walls to be full of wedding photos of brides in gowns supplied by me!  The idea of that makes me feel giddy.”

For more information about “A Bride’s Big Day,” visit Sherry’s blog (click here) which features dresses for a variety of tastes, styles and colors, offering both new, previously worn and vintage dresses and accessories.  She even has a section on wedding ideas which explores Sherry’s thoughts on wedding traditions, her “Long-Time Love Affair With Textiles And Color” and more!

Leave a Reply

