Flowers, flowers everywhere!

June 13, 2009 at 7:30 PM (Laura's Wedding) (, , , , , , , , , )

So, I really didn’t have much in the way of a vision for the wedding flowers (Jim didn’t care at all.  Surprise, I know! ;))  So, we needed some guidance.  We started out trying to find out what flowers we like (and more importantly what they’re called so that we could tell a florist.  “Umm… the red ones that are kinda pointy with the petals” just really isn’t helpful).

I knew I wanted dark reds and blacks (there are actually a surprising number of black flowers!  Who knew?), and whites, but I didn’t want a the whole pom-pom look or just a big bunch of roses.  Roses are nice, but they really aren’t that exciting for the most part.  Here are some images that I found that really started the ball rolling in the right direction!

Black Callas, Chocolate Cosmos, and Peacock feathers.

Black Callas, Chocolate Cosmos, and Peacock feathers.

Simple, stunning, but a little too dark (I want the red!) and I was seriously starting to dig asymmetry, but the feathers were a new idea altogether.  So, in looking for reds, these are the flowers that caught my eye:

Red Orchids

Red Orchids

More Red Orchids

More Red Orchids

Hmmm...red orchids... I'm seeing a trend!

Hmmm...red orchids... I'm seeing a trend!

So, thus armed, we met with the fun and talented Chase Rivers of Eye Design Floral.  His website shows a wide variety of flowers, colors and styles and he came highly recommended by Amy, my wedding coordinator (if you can’t trust your coordinator, who can you trust?), so we were excited (Ok, Jim still didn’t really care, but he went anyway and even participated a bit)!  Chase showed us a lot of flowers to get a feel for what we like and I showed him the pics that I’d found (orchids…yup!) and he added a few that are now on my list of favorites making me so much more diverse in my flower tastes (oooo… so much more cosmopolitan!)

Check it out:

Flowers for Me!

Flowers for Me!

Flowers for the Brides Maids (Anemones are so Cute!)

Flowers for the Brides Maids (Anemones are so Cute!)

Flowers for the Guys and Family

Flowers for the Guys and Family

Table Decorations

Table Decorations

Aren’t they gorgeous?!  The feathers even lead to the cake design (you’ll have to wait for the cake post for more on that!) so all around a useful and easy venture.  I’m still not sure what it’s all going to look like, but the flowers are all lovely, so I’m sure it’ll turn out well.  Thanks Chase!

Wish me luck!

1 Comment

  1. sgdish said,

    Love these, especially and red/black callas and the anemones, along with the feathers. Can’t wait to find out what you decide!

Leave a Reply

